North Shore Defensive Firearms Training logo


Upcoming Classes


October 15, 2022

10:00AM to 3:00PM

American Legion Post 109
614 1st Avenue
Two Harbors, MN 55616
Class held in the basement


October 29, 2022

10:00AM to 3:00PM

American Legion Post 109
614 1st Avenue
Two Harbors, MN 55616
Class held in the basement



Doug Frericks
Instructor (exp. 08/20/2023)


Brad Anderson
Owner/Certifying Instructor

I am no longer teaching permit to carry classes. Please contact Doug with questions or to register for a class.




Minnesota Permit to Carry

Minnesota Personal Protection Act - MPPA | Carry Permit | Minnesota Citizens' Personal Protection Act - MCPPA | Conceal and Carry - CCW


The course is designed to meet or exceed the standards required for an individual to obtain a State of Minnesota Permit To Carry A Pistol. You must be at least 20 years of age to attend the course, 21 years of age to apply for your permit to carry. Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive a certificate required to accompany your permit to carry application. The following are some of the items covered during the class:

Firearms Safety
◾ Safety rules
◾ Safety in the home
◾ Children and firearms safety
◾ Safe use, handling, and storage of firearms and ammunition
Handgun Fundamentals*
◾ Different types of handguns and actions
◾ Mechanical parts of revolvers and pistols
◾ Handgun loading, unloading and clearing malfunctions
◾ Firearm maintenance
Legal Aspects and the Use of Deadly Force
◾ Minnesota Statute 624.714 Carrying of Firearms Without Permit
◾ Other applicable state laws
Carrying a Firearm
◾ Carry and concealment
◾ Firearm retention
◾ Confrontation avoidance
◾ Interacting with law enforcement
◾ Psychological and physiological aspects of a violent threat encounter
Shooting Fundamentals*
◾ Basic shooting techniques
◾ Range commands and safety rules

*Please note the class is intended for individuals with previous handgun experience. If you have little or no experience, then please contact me to discuss additional training prior to attending this class. I do not want to discourage anyone from taking this class, but I must ensure everyone's safety.

The class also includes an assessment of your mechanical knowledge of and safe practices with a handgun, a written examination of the materials covered, and a live-fire shooting exercise. The shooting exercise is performed after the classroom portion and other assessments have been successfully completed.

You will need to bring the following items to the class:
◾ MN Driver's License or state issued photo ID
◾ Handgun of your choice (preferably one you are familiar with and comfortable shooting)
◾ Ammunition for your handgun - 10 rounds required to qualify, but 50 rounds are recommended
◾ Eye and ear protection

If you do not have a handgun or eye/ear protection, then please let me know prior to class and I will provide what you need.

Optional item you may want to bring to the class:
◾ Beverage of your choice (non-alcoholic)
◾ Snack - we will not be stopping for a dinner/lunch break
◾ Weather appropriate clothing
◾ Brimmed hat

The class is $90/person. Cash and check are accepted payment methods.

What's Next?
After you have successfully completed the course, you are now ready to apply for your permit to carry. First you must ensure you meet the following requirements:
◾ Training in the safe use of a pistol (the course covers this requirement)
◾ At least 21 years and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
◾ Completed application for a permit (more info below)
◾ Not prohibited from possessing a firearm
◾ Not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system

Complete the Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application Permit to Carry a Pistol Opens in new window which is found on the Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website. It is recommended that you save the PDF file to your computer if you plan to fill out the form electronically. It is not necessary if you are going to print out the form and complete by hand. Follow the instructions and fill out the form completely, accurately, and honestly. Do not sign the form until you are in the presence of the sheriff department representative accepting your application.

Make a copy of your permit to carry course certificate, as you will be providing it along with your application. You should retain the original certificate for your records. The certificate is good for one year from the issued date, so you must submit your application within that time period or retake the course. You should also make a copy of your driver's license, state identification card, or photo page of your passport.

Locate the sheriff’s office for the Minnesota county in which you reside. For non-residents, you may apply at any Minnesota sheriff’s office. A list of sheriff's office locations Opens in new window which is found on the Minnesota Department of Public Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website. You should contact the sheriff's office to determine the accepted methods of payment.

Make the trip to the sheriff’s office to apply in person. You must apply in person, as per Minnesota Statute 624.714 Opens in new window. Be sure to bring the following items:
◾ Completed application form
◾ Copy of course certificate
◾ Copy of driver's license or other identification described above
◾ Payment of $100

Upon approval of your application, you will receive your permit to carry in the mail within 30 days.



Woman aiming pistol at outdoor shooting range

Responsible Firearms Ownership

North Shore Defensive Firearms Training (NSDFT) was founded to provide quality and affordable firearms training to responsible individuals. Regardless if Americans have the privilege or the right to own firearms, a great responsibility comes along with firearms ownership. As gun owners, we are responsible for the safe storage, operation, and maintenance of our firearms. As responsible gun owners, we ensure our own safety, the safety of our loved ones, and the safety of our ability to own firearms. Increase your knowledge, sharpen your skills, and improve your mindset through training and practice. North Shore Defensive Firearms Training, proudly serving Two Harbors, MN and surrounding area.

Man drawing pistol from concealed holster


Minnesota Permit to Carry courses. Class sizes are limited to ensure high quality and safety standards are maintained. Your training experience will be comfortable and enjoyable in a safe and professional learning environment. The goal is to provide you with the knowledge and skills defined within the course curriculum and not to feed the bottom line. Regularly scheduled classes are available, as well as individual or group sessions upon request to accommodate your schedule.

Woman aiming pistol at indoor shooting range

Personal Commitment

NSDFT is veteran-owned and operated business, founded and owned by Brad Anderson. Brad is a certified instructor for permit to carry, NRA Basics of Pistol Shooting and Basic Personal Protection in the Home. Brad is committed to promoting safe and responsible firearms handling and ownership, and looks forward to the continued growth of the shooting sports. North Shore Defensive Firearms Training is recognized by the Minnesota Department of Safety’s Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as an approved business organization to train instructors to teach courses based on the Minnesota Citizens’ Personal Protection Act of 2005 (MN Statute 624.714).